The Drama League's 34th Annual Benefit Gala Set For November 6 at the Plaza

New York, NY (July 10, 2017) – SAVE THE DATE! The Drama League (Executive Artistic Director, Gabriel Stelian-Shanks) has announced that the organization’s 34th Annual Benefit Gala: A Musical Celebration of Broadway will be held on Monday, November 6, 2017 beginning at 7:00 p.m. in New York City at the The Plaza (768 Fifth Avenue).

The black-tie gala will feature dozens of stars from Hollywood and Broadway in a one-night-only musical tribute supporting The Drama League’s educational initiatives for promising young artists. Past performers at The Drama League’s Benefit Gala have included Liza Minnelli, Neil Patrick Harris, Stephen Colbert, Harry Connick, Jr., Bernadette Peters, Audra McDonald, Patti LuPone, Kristin Chenoweth, Angela Lansbury, Tony Bennett, Nick Jonas, and the casts of Broadway’s hottest musicals. For information about tickets, which include VIP and Ballroom Tables and individual seats, please call (212) 244-9494, Ext. 101 or visit

The Drama League Benefit Gala helps to raise funds to support the organization’s educational initiatives, including The Drama League Directors Project. This award-winning initiative, which began in 1982 and whose alumni now number over 300, has been instrumental in launching the careers of many acclaimed theater directors including Tony Award winners Rebecca Taichman(Indecent), Christopher Ashley (Come From Away),  Sam Gold (Fun Home,  The Glass Menagerie),  DianePaulus  (Waitress)PamMacKinnon  (Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?Amélie),  MichaelMayer  (Hedwig and the Angry Inch,  Burn This),  and  JohnRando  (On The Town);  Tony Award nominees Mark Brokaw (Heisenberg), RachelChavkin  (Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812), Moritzvon Steulpnagel (Present LaughterHand to God) and Alex Timbers (Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson); as well as OBIE and Emmy Award winners  LeardeBessonet,  R.J.  Cutler, and Anne Kaufmann (A Life)to name a few. ‘Drama League Directors’ have been honored with Tony, Emmy, Grammy, Obie, Peabody, Drama Desk, GLAAD, Drama League, New York Drama Critics Circle, Outer Critics, Evening Standard, Lucille Lortel, Bessie, Princess Grace, Garland, Drama-Logue, Barrymore, Helen Hayes, Elliot Norton, and Joseph Jefferson Awards, and have directed films and plays that received Academy Award nominations and the Pulitzer Prize for Drama.

The Drama League Benefit Gala Sponsors include Delta Air Lines, the Official Air Line of The Drama League; M.A.C. Cosmetics, the Official Make-up Partner of The Drama League; and Starbright Floral Design, the Official Florist of The Drama League.

For additional information about the Drama League and upcoming events, please call (212) 244-9494, or e-mail, or visit the website at

Trevor Chauvin