Ben Platt Announces Departure from Dear Evan Hansen

Tony winner, Ben Platt will leave his role in Dear Evan Hansen on Sunday, November 19, 2017. Platt's replacement is still to be announced.

Ben Platt has received critical acclaim for his performance in the musical. Along with the Tony, he received Obie, Drama League, and Lucille Lortel Awards, as well as nominations for the Drama Desk and Outer Critics Circle Awards. Platt originated the role in out of town try-outs since 2015. 

With a score by Oscar and Tony winners Pasek and Paul, and a book by Tony winner Steven Levenson, Dear Evan Hansen is described as follows: "All his life Evan Hansen has felt invisible. To his peers, to the girl he loves, sometimes even to his own mother. But that was before he wrote the letter — that led to the incident— that started the lie — that ignited a movement – that inspired a community — and changed Evan's status from the ultimate outsider into the somebody everyone wants to know. But how long can Evan keep his secret? And at what price?"

The cast also includes; Laura Dreyfuss, Mike Faist (Tony nominee), Rachel Bay Jones (Tony winner), Kristolyn Lloyd, Michael Park, Will Roland, and Jennifer Laura Thompson (Tony nominee). The production earned a total of six Tony Awards, including Best Musical, Best Score, and Best Book.

Trevor Chauvin